

## **Appointment and Compensation**

## Appointment

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice Chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. The Vice Chair(s) may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

Cabinet appoints members and Vice Chairs to initial terms of two to four years, and may appoint them to terms lasting up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

The board is supported by the Environmental Appeal Board Staff and Chair also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies. They are responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group of review/appeal bodies.

## Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by the Cabinet orders that appoint them. The rates are specified in British Columbia's <u>*Treasury Board Directive 1/24</u>*, based on how it classifies the Board. The Board is in the second out of five categories.</u>

Compensation of members for the 2023/2024 fiscal year are as follows:

Part time Appointees					
Chair	Compensation		Vice Chair	Compensation	
Stacy Robertson	\$40,123		Sharleen Dumont	\$9,270	

Member	Compensation		Member	Compensation
Deanie Kolybabi	\$1,575		Anita Molzahn	\$820
Ailve McNestry	\$1,050		Sandy Pullin	\$525
Alan Meakes	\$3,675		Cheryl Vickers	\$968
Total Remuneration (Part-Time Appointees)				\$58,006